Wild Musing

Writing – Diary of a Budding Freelance

To Guru and Elance, Or Not?

I am still undecided about these two sites. I am a member of both though not a paid member of Elance. To be fair to both sites I have only been active about two weeks, I have received no solid work from either. From Guru I was once invited to apply for a proposal (think the employer checks through profiles and chooses people who might suit). I submitted my proposal and to date (about a week) have heard nothing. A few days ago I got an exciting email that seemed to be saying they were going to award me the job. I wrote back answering their questions but so far have heard no more. I have probably applied for about 20 projects on Guru. 

Elance is a bit different as I am not a paid member and therefore can only apply for three projects a month. I have had one person reply and say that their quota was full at the moment but they should have some work for me after Christmas so I am hopeful this will work out. To be fair though I gave a very low bid to get my foot in the door and may tire of working for that kind of money very quickly.

So, overall my take on it is this: if these places are all you have in your freelance life you may quickly become suicidal. On the other hand while you are pitching your fantastic ideas to reputable, established magazines these may be worth a go.

One conclusion I have come to though is that bidding really low may only get you crap(there is an awful lot on there), the most positive response I got was to my highest bid ever. I am wondering if decent employers have the feeling that low bids may equal low quality. Anyway, I fully intend to experiment further with these sites and will keep you informed.

December 19, 2008 - Posted by | Elance, Getting published, Guru, Uncategorized, Writing | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Michelle

    We are working on elance from long time and earn good money . There is process of bidding visit my blog palsikar.wordpress.com

    or mail me I will help you to get the project . If you want to see profile on elance utsavsoftech.elance.com

    thanks
    Umesh

    Comment by Umesh | January 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Umesh,

      Thanks for your reply. Do you mind me asking what you consider to be good money. If you don’t want to post that information here please feel free to use my private email michellejbuss@writerightfreelance.co.uk.

      Comment by michellejbuss | January 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

